Currency:

Posted by Padmore Editorial

THE MUST-READ

 One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people―a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others―could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. 


 A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come.

The Jane Austen Society
$15.99

EDITORIAL REVIEWS

THE WORDS!


What Bookstragrammers Say...


View this post on Instagram

💐 Good Morning, Everyone!⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ 💐⁣⁣ ⁣⁣ Today I’m excited to share my review for 𝐓𝐡𝐞 𝐉𝐚𝐧𝐞 𝐀𝐮𝐬𝐭𝐞𝐧 𝐒𝐨𝐜𝐢𝐞𝐭𝐲 by 𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐚𝐥𝐢𝐞 𝐉𝐞𝐧𝐧𝐞𝐫!⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ ⁣⁣ 𝘙𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸:⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ ⁣⁣⁣ Charming, cosy, and quaint!⁣ ⁣ 𝐓𝐡𝐞 𝐉𝐚𝐧𝐞 𝐀𝐮𝐬𝐭𝐞𝐧 𝐒𝐨𝐜𝐢𝐞𝐭𝐲 is a delightfully nostalgic, heartwarming tale that takes us to the small village of Chawton, England post-WWII and into the lives of an unusual, eclectic group of people that includes a farmer, a doctor, a former school teacher, a young maid, a solicitor, a movie star, an antique auctioneer, and a distant relative of Austen as they join together to preserve and honour the iconic writer and the legacy she left behind.⁣ ⁣ The writing is tender and rich. The characters are multilayered, caring, and engaging. And the plot is an absorbing mix of life, loss, love, family, friendship, heartbreak, loneliness, familial expectations, second chances, and literary dabblings.⁣ ⁣ Overall, 𝐓𝐡𝐞 𝐉𝐚𝐧𝐞 𝐀𝐮𝐬𝐭𝐞𝐧 𝐒𝐨𝐜𝐢𝐞𝐭𝐲 is a sweet, touching, sentimental debut by Jenner that does a wonderful job of reminding us of all the special, remarkable characters and tales Jane Austen created and why we still enjoy and love them so much today.⁣ ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣𝐑𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐧𝐠: 🌟🌟🌟🌟⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ Thank you so much to @stmartinspress for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ #𝐐𝐎𝐓𝐃: ⁣What is your favourite Jane Austen novel? Mine is Pride and Prejudice!⁣ ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣#bookstagram #bookblogger #reading #bookishlove #bookphotography #books #booksbooksbooks #bookishlife #bookstagrammer #lovetoread #readersofinstagram #bookworm #bookish #whatsbetterthanbooks⁣ #bookreview #bookhoarder #booklover #bookobsessed #bookaholic #2020TBR #booksonbooksonbooks #mybookpledge #JaneAusten #NatalieJenner #historicalfiction #thejaneaustensociety

A post shared by Zoe 🇨🇦📚🚴‍♀️🌺 (@wbtbbookreviews) on


MEET THE AUTHOR

Natalie Jenner


Natalie Jenner was born in England, raised in Canada, and graduated from the University of Toronto with consecutive degrees in English Literature and Law. She worked for decades in the legal industry and also founded the independent bookstore Archetype Books in Oakville, Ontario, where she lives with her family and two rescue dogs. A lifelong devotee of all things Jane Austen, The Jane Austen Society is her first published novel.

What other authors have to say...


"Few things draw disparate people together so quickly as discovering they love the same writers. Few writers cement such friendships as deeply as Austen does. I believe that the readers of Jenner's book will fall in love with the readers inside Jenner's book, all of us thinking and dreaming of Austen the whole while. What could be better? Nothing, that's what! A wonderful book, a wonderful read." ―Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author of The Jane Austen Book Club 


"I can’t remember the last time I was so utterly charmed by a novel as I am with The Jane Austen Society. Natalie Jenner creates a world populated with characters who come together to preserve Jane Austen’s home in the village of Chawton after WW II. And in so doing she explores love and grief and hope, all while plunging us headfirst into Austen’s words. A celebration of the human spirit and the power of stories, I just love this book!" ―Ann Hood, New York Times bestselling author of Comfort and The Obituary Writer


"Natalie Jenner's lovely debut novel, The Jane Austen Society, is a charming, yet bittersweet tale about the power of literature ― the beloved Jane Austen in particular ― to heal and elevate the human spirit in the aftermath of World War II.” ―Marie Benedict, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room


"Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is an extremely impressive debut novel populated with fully-developed, nuanced characters that resonate with the kind of humanity that made Ms. Austen's stories so universal and timeless." ―Mark Sullivan, bestselling author of Beneath a Scarlet Sky 


 "Fans of The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society, which tells the story of an eclectic group of people in a post-World War II English village who come together to save the beloved author's home and legacy. Author Natalie Jenner has penned a charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." ―Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris 





Buy the Book Now


The Jane Austen Society
$15.99


More articles to read


Celebrity Picks. We have selected four female celebrities whose opinion we value and one book they recommend. We hope you feel inspired to pick your next read.

Reading by the beach might not be an option for every single person right now, so we are offering a solution... Bring the beach to YOU! Let’s cherish good moments through these great reads!

Share with other booklovers

(Pin Post to Pinterest)



If you would like to be a guest blogger, contact editorial@padmorepublishing.com

BE IN THE KNOW 

Subscribe to Padmore Culture mailing list to receive updates on new arrivals, featured products and must reads

Email:

Are you leaving already? Sign up for new books and products, offers and bookish news.

Email:

Are you leaving already? Sign up for new books and products, offers and bookish news.

Email:

Comments

Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing

 

 

 

Follow us on Instagram

@padmoreculture

Processing...

added to cart success.

added to wishlist success.

Back to the top