Currency:

Windfall

In stock

$12.99

This romantic story of hope, chance, and change from the author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is one Jenny Han says is filled with all of her "favorite things," Morgan Matson calls “something wonderful” and Stephanie Perkins says “is rich with the intensity of real love.”Alice...

Qty:

Order today, and your made to order product will be shipped between and .

This romantic story of hope, chance, and change from the author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is one Jenny Han says is filled with all of her "favorite things," Morgan Matson calls “something wonderful” and Stephanie Perkins says “is rich with the intensity of real love.”

Alice doesn’t believe in luck—at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she’s been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday—just when it seems they might be on the brink of something—she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes.

At first, it seems like a dream come true, especially since the two of them are no strangers to misfortune. As a kid, Alice won the worst kind of lottery possible when her parents died just over a year apart from each other. And Teddy’s father abandoned his family not long after that, leaving them to grapple with his gambling debts. Through it all, Teddy and Alice have leaned on each other. But now, as they negotiate the ripple effects of Teddy’s newfound wealth, a gulf opens between them. And soon, the money starts to feel like more of a curse than a windfall.

As they try to find their way back to each other, Alice learns more about herself than she ever could have imagined . . . and about the unexpected ways in which luck and love sometimes intersect. 

  • Author: Jennifer E. Smith
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Pages: 432
  • Size: 5.9 x 8.5
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press

Smith’s dynamic characters and their complex struggles...will keep readers invested." —Publishers Weekly


"Smith weaves a poignant tale of teens coping with loss and change as they balance on the verge of adulthood...Fans of Morgan Matson’s and Deb Caletti’s books will want to curl up with a box of tissues as they fall under Smith’s storytelling spell." —School Library Journal

“This compelling read, gracefully told, raises issues seldom explored in popular fiction. How can we rationalize life's inequalities? What do we owe, and to whom, when blessed with good fortune? Smart and entertaining, as to be expected from Smith.” Kirkus Reviews

"Smith taps into the relatable feelings of young love...she skillfully juxtaposes these romantic complications with the struggles of newfound wealth; family and friend conflicts; and each teen’s internal wrestling with the past, present, and future." —VOYA


 

Customer Reviews

Based on 2 reviews Write a review
Processing...

added to cart success.

added to wishlist success.

Back to the top