Currency:

The Black Kids

In stock

$14.99

“Should be required reading in every classroom.” —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin“A true love letter to Los Angeles.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion“A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not ComingPerfect for...

Qty:

Order today, and your made to order product will be shipped between and .

“Should be required reading in every classroom.” —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
“A true love letter to Los Angeles.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion
“A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming


Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

  

DETAILS:

  • Author: Christina Hammonds Reed
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Pages: 368
  • Size: 5.5 x 8.2
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
  • Condition: NEW

 

  

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review
Processing...

added to cart success.

added to wishlist success.

Back to the top