Currency:

Lying in Wait

In stock

$15.99

A June 2018 Indie Next Pick“An extraordinary novel. Lying in Wait crackles and snaps like a bonfire on a winter’s night; you shudder even as you draw closer to it. Spellbinding.” —A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the WindowFrom the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an “unputdownable psychological thriller...

Qty:

Deadline for Christmas Orders is December 1, 2018. Order today, and your made to order product will be shipped between and .

A June 2018 Indie Next Pick

“An extraordinary novel. Lying in Wait crackles and snaps like a bonfire on a winter’s night; you shudder even as you draw closer to it. Spellbinding.” —A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an “unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page” (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed.

My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.

On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life—wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia’s son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax.

For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a “seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre” (Sunday Mirror).

 

DETAILS:

  • Author: Liz Nugent
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Pages: 320
  • Size: 6 x 9
  • Publisher: Gallery/Scout Press

 

REVIEWS:

"Like Unraveling Oliver (2017), this is a whydunit, not a whodunit, and the real meat lies in Nugent's exploration of motherhood, mental illness, and what could drive a person to murder...  A page-turner chock full of lies and betrayals and a very creepy mother-son relationship." (Kirkus Reviews)

"A devastating psychological thriller... Lydia is the most intriguing puzzle; equal parts victim and villain, she simultaneously inspires pity, outrage, and horror. The result is an exquisitely uncomfortable, utterly captivating reading experience."  (Publishers Weekly (starred and boxed review))

"[A] chilling tale of the sociopathic mind… Readers who love sinister psychological thrillers will tear through these pages." (Library Journal (starred review))

“Nugent introduces an unforgettable cast of characters in this tour de force…astonishing....everyone should grab it the second it appears."   (Booklist (starred review))

“[A] dark, captivating psychological thriller.” (PEOPLE) 

 

  

Customer Reviews

Based on 5 reviews Write a review
Processing...

added to cart success.

added to wishlist success.

Back to the top